Restoring a 1973 BMW R75/5 Motorcycle

February 19, 2007

Just a quickie

Filed under: 1973, airhead, BMW motorcycle, motorcycle restoration, R75/5 — Penforhire @ 6:48 pm

Eurotech got back to me today to tell me the throttle cable was not a mistake. This is supposed to be a newer replacement P/N. I can just see myself trying to fit it in a couple of months and cussing up a storm when it doesn’t fit. Anyway, I wanted to correct any slander of Eurotech’s shipment accuracy. Those guys are great.

Lots of people are fans of Ed Korn’s specialty tools (Cycle Works). Al was the first of several who said to me, “if you’re working on your own airhead you’ll be wanting some of his tools.” On those steering bearing races, I read about several techniques to extract them. If you start a couple of cuts with a Dremel cut-off tool they will shatter during a chisel strike (wear goggles because apparently they can really shatter). You can drill some small holes in the races at an angle and use them to drift out (or shatter again). If you TIG weld a bead around the circumference they will pop out when the bead cools. The “correct” tool (Matra or ?) is supposed to be awesome and only costs some hundreds of dollars (!). Ed Korn’s tool is around $46 and I’m going to see for myself how well it works, though it is universally praised. He sells a video on transmission servicing too. Do I dare?

Gary mentioned the Hammersley web site has a replacement steering column VIN plate showing in their fiche with instructions to call for details. I sent them an e-mail inquiring because I have not found other leads yet.

Here’s my obligatory photo for the post.

mark-nx650.jpg

This is my old friend Mark. He introduced me to the joys and pains of dual-sport riding in the wilds of upstate NY. He beat the living daylights out of that Honda NX650. I recall he broke off just about every control lever or surface over time, including the handlebars (against his ribs). I was on a Yamaha XT600 for our adventures in mud.

1 Comment »

  1. Hello,
    ……..absolutely accurate….

    ..if you want quality and “thinking” people well concieved tools…….Steady Eddie is the man

    Comment by Pete — September 14, 2007 @ 4:49 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

