Restoring a 1973 BMW R75/5 Motorcycle

January 15, 2007

Corrections

Filed under: 1973, airhead, BMW, motorcycle, motorcycle restoration, R75/5 — Penforhire @ 5:51 pm

I know some of you continue to shake your heads in amazement at my unsuitability for the task at hand. But I do have some fine advisors. I have a couple of minor corrections to say here so you can get some sleep tonight.

Both Joe and Bob said to leave the engine studs in place. They are not supposed to be easy to remove and may have red Loctite or similar used at the factory. Joe likes to rig ropes to them for final engine manuevering. So they stay. That raises my probability of getting impaled on them significantly but we’ll just have to see what happens.

A watercooler crowd at work (Bryan, Alex, and Leon) convinced me my new impact sockets are not meant to be hammer operated at the end of my impact driver but rather used as air impact-wrench tips. That pretty much eliminates them from most-favored tool status but I still like ’em.

Everyone gets a chuckle out of my rotor removal dilemma but I don’t have an answer to it yet.

See this guy over the yellow line below (another Angeles Crest Highway location)? He needs to make some corrections, pronto!

555-over-the-line.jpg

If you find yourself on that side of the double yellow you did something wrong and if you do it often enough or long enough it will permanently self-correct.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

